God helps us delay gratification or give up something we really want, so that we can taste the best that life has in store for us a little later. 

I just realized how is it really hard to let go of the things you really want. It’s so difficult indeed and sometimes somehow the feeling of being broken is necessary. I got the quote from the book I’ve read few days ago about how is it to bear fruit of the Spirit.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23

We can bear those fruits not with our own effort, but with God’s grace. It doesn’t come in an instant, it’s a process actually. Though I don’t totally, perfectly possess the others, what I’m focusing here is the part of having self-control (because I find it the most difficult, in my own opinion). We can encounter a lot of needs of self-control dose in our daily lives like simply buying that beautiful scarf you’ve seen in the mall during sales asking yourself if you’re gonna buy it or is there something else worth paying that money for or can be just a simple decision if you’re gonna eat rice for dinner or not. In my part, I’m really having this difficulty of controlling my emotions and Satan knows that it is my weakness that’s why he keeps on attacking me in that area of my life. But the beautiful part is that God is more powerful than him. As what I’ve said earlier, self-control as one of the fruit of the Spirit can’t be achieved with just our own effort or we can’t consider it as just another to-do-list stuff, it’s like a flower that must be bloomed with the help of the Holy Spirit, as we get to know Jesus more through His Words and through prayers as well.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Self-control might include letting go of something our heart truly desires knowing God’s heart is better than ours, controlling yourself from craving to what the world has to offer you, but instead waiting for Him to give you the best that He has already prepared for you in His perfect time. 🙂

Resources:
Bloom Before You’re Planted: Gardening Tools for a Woman’s Soul by Lizabeth Duckworth
